New Year Approaching

FirstSnow15 (1)

It’s December 29th and my hometown got its first snowfall of the season. The snow is later than it’s been in 116 years, but it finally came after being heralded by howling winds and sleet that drummed against the roof until I fell asleep last night.

I don’t like snow. I don’t like digging my car out from underneath a mountain of salty snow in order to go to church. I don’t like putting on six extra layers of clothes just to go to breakfast or classes at college. Snow can be a pain.

Yet, I love thick wool sweaters. I love stepping outside and feeling the sharp bite of winter when I inhale. There’s nothing quite like the silent sound of my feet walking through a dusting of snow as fluffy snowflakes flutter to the ground.

I may not like that most winters here in the northeast United States last for four whole months, but I like the feeling of the flip of the calendar pages. The first snow is a message. It’s winter, the snow says. Better be ready.

This first snowfall is just a few short days away from 2016. And the snow seems to say, it’s almost a brand new year. Better be ready.

The end of the old year and the start of the new is a great time to reflect and to prepare. For me, new classes are barely two weeks away. New professors, a new roommate, and a brand new chapter to fill as the year unfolds. I’m happy for the things ahead. But I don’t want to plunge ahead, blindly, taking whatever 2016 puts in my way. I want to be ready.

So, this year, my word is going to be Community. Last year was Peace. You can read about that here and here. In fact, I talked a little bit about Community last year, in this post.

The reason I chose Community for this year is because I’m an introvert. I like to do things on my own. In fact, I tend to manage well on my own. Yet, I do more than manage — I can thrive — when I allow others in and I live in Community with them. My life is richer, deeper, when I do life with others. The more I open up about my faith journey, my struggles, and my Joys, the more my faith can grow.

I’m excited for what 2016 holds. I want to be prepared. So, I’m striving to foster community with members of my church and college, where it’s easy to get lost among the busyness¬†and small talk, confusing Christian-ese for Christian fellowship.

What word are you claiming for 2016?

Leave a Reply

