Wed in White

I walked past the tv that’s incessantly on in the residence hall lobby. A woman’s voice caught my attention as I walked out the door. She was introducing herself saying, “I design the single most important garment that a woman will ever wear — her wedding dress.”

I think I may have visibly rolled my eyes. My first instinctive reaction is are you kidding me? How is it that over the span of a woman’s life, that one particular white dress will matter more than anything else? Why do we put so much expectation on one day of our lives?

Don’t get me wrong. Weddings are important, distinctive moments that can definitely be a highlight in a woman’s life. But it astounds me that there is such a massive industry that sells this idea of a perfect, life altering ceremony, and that it must include a long, sweeping white gown, a towering wedding cake, and $25,000 to spend on all of it.

Forgive me for not feeling swept up into the ideology. I tend to think the life after the wedding is so much more important than the one afternoon that signifies the change.

It was while I was mulling these things over in my head, that a thought occurred to me. Maybe she was right. Maybe the wedding dress is the most important dress we’ll ever wear. I don’t mean it’s the most important thing I’ll wear, but we’ll wear.

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.” Ephesians 5:25-27

The Church has been likened in the Bible to the Bride of Christ. Someday there is going to be a great wedding and the Church is going to be clothed in the “righteous deeds of the saints.”

“’Hallelujah!
For the Lord our God
the Almighty reigns.
Let us rejoice and exult
and give him the glory,
for the marriage of the Lamb has come,
and his Bride has made herself ready;
 it was granted her to clothe herself
    with fine linen, bright and pure’—
for the fine linen is the righteous deeds of the saints.” Revelation 19:6b-8

Right now we are stuck with a shadow of the things to come. We marry in white (really, that is Queen Victoria’s fault) and pledge our faithfulness to one another, but we are broken fragments of righteousness. Our unfaithfulness to each other is easily seen, but our unfaithfulness to Christ is so much more prevalent. Yet, even in our soiled condition, Christ is going to bind up our wounds and make us wholly holy with Him as His Bride.

That wedding day will be the most important day ever. The righteous deeds of the saints will be a shining white garment for the Bride of Christ. So while that woman on tv probably doesn’t design those types of dresses, she may be closer to the truth than she knows.

Leave a Reply

